“I Read it in a Fanzine:” – Feminist Zines!

I’m excited to announce that on Thursday, September 1st at 7PM, my friend Elvis Bakaitis and I will be co-hosting a feminist zine event at Bluestockings bookstore on the Lower East Side! I love collaborating with the talented and awesome Elvis, who also designed the cover of my zine My Feminist Friends. Below is the description of our event – feel free to pass it along to anyone you think might be interested! I’m so happy to have this opportunity to co-present with such an amazing bunch of feminist zinesters.

 

Titled after a Bikini Kill lyric, “I Read it in a Fanzine” features the work of 6 feminist zine editors – Kate Angell (My Feminist Friends), Elvis Bakaitis (Twinks for Sale!), Ocean Capewell (High on Burning Photographs and It’s Not the End of the World!: Building a Life with Limp Wrists), Rachel and Sari (Hoax), and Kate Wadkins (International Girl Gang Underground). The zinesters and contributors will read selections of their work, and copies will be available for purchase after the event…come pick up a rad zine to add to your collection!

One Response to ““I Read it in a Fanzine:” – Feminist Zines!”

  1. Stephanie Basile Says:

    My Feminist Friends is an intelligent zine that captures the personal and political views and analyses of Kate’s friends. A must read.

    I’m looking forward to the zine reading on September 1st. It looks like an excellent line up of zinesters!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

