Seeing Gertrude Stein: Five Stories (San Francisco)

I usually limit blogging about events to those occuring in NYC, as that’s where I live, but could not pass up blogging about a new exhibit on Gertrude Stein at San Francisco’s Contemporary Jewish Museum. (After all, I did base this blog’s name on one of her books and have a postcard of her and Alice B. Toklas hanging over my desk). Titled Seeing Gertrude Stein: Five Stories, the exhibition is up through September 6th.

According to the museum’s website, the exhibition focuses on “Stein’s life from the end of World War I through World War II, the exhibition explores her evolving public personae, lifestyle, relationships, landmark 1934-35 tour of the United States, and life in France during WWII.”

I was in San Francisco in March and am really disappointed that the exhibit wasn’t up yet – it makes me want to go back this summer! If you do make it to the exhibit, promise to describe it to me in detail afterward? 🙂

Leave a Reply

