Gertrude Stein and Alice B. Toklas Papers

If you’re ever wondering where the name of my blog came from, the answer is from Gertrude Stein’s brilliant book Everybody’s Autobiography. Gertrude Stein has been highly influential on me as a writer, reader, and queer for a long time – I keep a postcard of Stein and Toklas on the wall next to my desk at work as aesthetic caffeine.

For Steiniacs like me, a fabulous place to virtually visit is Yale University’s Gertrude Stein and Alice B. Toklas Papers digital collection. Although one would need to visit Yale in person to view the collection in its entirety, the website has an impressive array of digitized letters, photos, drawings, etc. spanning the years 1837-1961. Check out this home movie of Stein and Toklas from 1927!

I haven’t made it up to Yale yet to visit the collection in person, but I will, believe me, I will!

Leave a Reply

