American Libraries publication

Over two years ago I interned at Brooklyn College with Barnaby Nicolas under the leadership of professor/librarian Beth Evans. This was my first experience interning at an academic library as a graduate student – my only other library position had been a work-study job in the Interlibrary Loan department of my undergraduate library.

During the internship Beth suggested that the three of us plus another intern apply to present a poster at the 2010 National Diversity in Libraries Conference, held at Princeton University. We created a presentation based upon our experiences at Brooklyn College, calling  it A Few Drops Wrought a Ripple Effect: A Diverse Pool of Interns Offers Short-Term Staffing Solutions and Long-Term Benefits for New Professionals and the Library.

The poster session was a success, and after the conference Beth, Barnaby, and I decided to write an article on the importance of diversifying the library profession from the internship level onward. This article – entitled Reflecting Our Communities – was published by American Libraries online yesterday, and will be printed in the January/February issue.

2 Responses to “American Libraries publication”

  1. Stephanie C. Says:

    I just read said article and congratulations! I find it enlightening to read about formative experiences AND a librarian who is actively seeking to make a positive impact on a specific patron population. I look forward to reading your blog, especially on topics pertaining to “combining activist ideologies with professional practices”.

    I do have a qualm with your statement “…I demonstrate to society and my user community that the profession need not be dominated by people who identify as heterosexual.” Dominated? This statement leads me to believe that simply being the majority precludes control. I think we can stand side by side within a profession and look past sexual preference and the majority being one way. As a librarian, anthropologist, and activist I think everyone should be fairly represented, but not stigmatize a group of people because of there are many of them. Yes, there was and is prejudice against many groups but one should be careful of the words we use that may perpetuate separation and judgement. I hope I presented my thoughts clearly and respectfully.

    Cheers.

    • Kate Angell Says:

      Hi Stephanie,

      Thanks for getting in touch. It’s always useful to hear feedback on articles I’ve written.

      In my experience as an information professional there has often been a lack of representation of both queer librarians and queer information – my intention in the article was to critique this as well as explain how I try to rectify it. Discrimination I’ve experienced as a queer would make it impossible for me to look past sexual preference in any of my roles in life – this includes librarianship.

      Queerness is an identity of mine. I do not intend to stigmatize anyone in the article, but rather explain how I apply my own socio-political location to my profession in the interest of progressive social change. I am so inspired and excited about the varying identities we all bring to the table in this profession and believe that the more we dialogue and engage with each other the more we will better ourselves and the world. Hope this gives a clearer picture of my intentions.

      Best wishes,

      Kate

Leave a Reply

