ABC No Rio Zine Library Benefit Party

I volunteered for about a year as a zine librarian at the ABC No Rio Zine Library and I have to say, it’s quite easily one of my favorite places in all of New York City (which within itself is a paradise to me).

The No Rio collection houses around 12,ooo zines, which anyone is free to come look at during the library’s open hours. An already delightful place is made even better by the presence of a sweetheart cat named Cookie Puss, who alternated between sitting on my lap and stepping on the letters “Q” or “W” when I would catalog zines.

Photo taken by Eric Bartholomew, 25 March 2010

In order to keep this wonderful print culture gem up and running, ABC No Rio is hosting a benefit party for the zine library this Friday from 8PM-1AM! Beverages and zines will be sold and endless fun will be had!

2 Responses to “ABC No Rio Zine Library Benefit Party”

  1. ellenroddick Says:

    As a native New Yorker now living on the West Coast, I enjoy your very New York blog. And as a memoir lover (writing my own memoir and helping non-writers write theirs), I like finding you writing your memoir as a blog. I just started a blog that will review memoirs I’ve loved regardless of when they were published and so am exploring blogworld and am glad to find you here..

    • Kate Angell Says:

      Hi Ellen,
      What a wonderful comment- I’m so glad to hear that you enjoy reading my blog. I actually named it in honor of Gertrude Stein’s book “Everybody’s Autobiography,” as I love how she documented the lives of herself and those around her. What’s your memoir blog’s address?
      Cheers,
      Kate

Leave a Reply

